Your Progress

  • 0 Incorrect (8 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
 
 
 
 
 
Ask DMV Genie AI
new
Back to Program Home

Free Arkansas DMV Permit Practice Test (AR)

  • Perfect for learner’s permit, driver’s license, and Senior Refresher Test
  • Based on official Arkansas 2024 Driver's manual
  • Updated for July 2024
Verified by Steven Litvintchouk, M.S., Chief Educational Researcher, Member of ACES. See our detailed commitment to accuracy and quality in our practice tests.

About this test

6 min to complete
Available in EN, ES, RU

This DMV permit practice test has just been updated for July 2024 and covers 40 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 AR Driver Handbook. While Arkansas’ laws are a bit different from many states and allow for unaccompanied drivers as young as 14, any potential driver of any age must still pass a DMV test, as in any other state. The Arkansas knowledge test, which you must pass to get your learner’s permit, has 25 questions. You must correctly answer 20 of them. If you fail the knowledge test, you can re-test in five days. Once you pass the knowledge test, vision test, and provide appropriate identification, then receive your learner’s permit, it is valid for 12 months. In addition to other requirements for your learner’s permit, if you are under 18, you must also provide proof that you are enrolled at a school and that you have a grade point average of 2.0 or better. Just like this practice test, the exam will be administered on a computer, and the questions are multiple-choice. Once you are in the examination kiosk at the Arkansas State Police testing facility, you may also choose to take your knowledge test via an oral exam.

[faq]

Arkansas Learner’s Permit Test FAQs in 2024

Can I take the permit test online in Arkansas?

No, the permit test must be taken in person at a Revenue Office. Online testing for the permit test is not available in Arkansas.

What are the requirements to get a learner’s permit?

To obtain a learner’s permit in Arkansas, you must be at least 14 years old, provide proof of identity and residency, pass a vision test, and complete the written knowledge test.

Am I allowed to drive alone with a permit?

No, with a learner’s permit in Arkansas, you are not allowed to drive alone. You must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old in the front passenger seat at all times.

Can a 14-year-old obtain a permit?

Yes, in Arkansas, individuals can get a learner’s permit at the age of 14. They must meet the same requirements as older applicants, including passing the written knowledge test and vision test.

[/faq]

What to expect on the actual AR DMV exam

25

questions

20

correct answers to pass

80

passing score

14

minimum age to apply

Your trusted source for driver education

Experience the Driving-Tests difference
Since our foundation in 2010, Driving-Tests.org has led the way in online driver's education, with over a decade of experience. Our dedicated experts, bringing together more than 50 years of collective expertise, have established us as the largest non-governmental organization in the U.S. solely focused on driver education. We go beyond the official manuals, offering unique interactive experiences and support like audio guides and an AI Assistant, to cater to different learning styles and needs.
Helping hundreds of thousands to ace their tests, our resources have earned a 4.7-star rating from over 14,500 reviews. Our goal is to make your path to becoming a confident driver as straightforward and effective as possible.

List of questions (classic view)

  1. Headrests should be adjusted so that the head restraint contacts the back of the head. This prevents
  2. In Arkansas, it is illegal to drive or be a front-seat passenger
  3. If there are no reduced speed limits posted at work zones, you should
  4. When you encounter a flashing yellow signal at an intersection, what should you do?
  5. If you encounter a sign with a horizontal white line inside a red circle, you must
  6. When turning corners, turn the steering wheel using the
  7. How far away from the air bag should the driver position himself in a vehicle?
  8. What does this sign indicate?
  9. To avoid last-minute braking or the need to turn suddenly, you should look ahead at least ________ while driving in the city.
  10. Before turning right at an intersection, you should make sure that there is no traffic approaching
  11. When you wish to change lanes, to make sure there are no vehicles in ________, look over your shoulder in the direction you plan to move.
  12. What does this sign mean?
  13. If it starts to rain on a hot day, use caution because the pavement may be slippery for the first few minutes. This is due to
  14. When you exit a high-speed, two-lane roadway, _________ if you have traffic following you.
  15. During bad weather, if you cannot see more than 200 feet ahead, don't drive faster than
  16. What does this sign mean?
  17. In heavy rain, your tires can ride on a film of water and lose contact with the road. This hazard is known as
  18. When following another vehicle under good driving conditions, use the _________ to be sure you're leaving enough space in front of your vehicle.
  19. To pass a motorcycle, you must
  20. This sign warns drivers that
  21. It is safest to drive _______ of your lane.
  22. If you are about to pass a bicycle to your immediate right and an oncoming vehicle is approaching you on your immediate left, what should you do?
  23. You need a _______ gap whenever you change lanes, enter a roadway, or merge with another lane.
  24. What does this sign mean?
  25. At 55 mph, you must not pass if you are within _______ of a hill or curve.
  26. You are at a stop sign, waiting to turn right. A vehicle approaching from the left has its turn signal on. What should you do?
  27. At 55 mph, you will travel over _______ in ten seconds.
  28. What should you do if your engine dies while you are driving on a highway?
  29. What does this sign indicate?
  30. A center lane that is marked on each side by a solid yellow line and a dashed yellow line is reserved for _________ and can be used by vehicles traveling in either direction.
  31. When making a right turn, avoid _________ before starting the turn.
  32. If you see or hear an emergency vehicle approaching from any direction, you must pull over to
  33. You must _______ for a school bus that is stopped with its red lights flashing on the opposite side of the road.
  34. What does this sign mean?
  35. In Arkansas, you must turn on your headlights
  36. You should avoid driving in a tractor-trailer's No-Zones, which are located
  37. As per the law of Arkansas, if involved in a traffic crash or involved in a serious traffic offense, you can be charged with DWI with a blood alcohol content
  38. Diabetic drivers who _________ should not drive if there is any chance that they might go into shock.
  39. This sign indicates that
  40. True or False: According to the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide, you must position your hands on the opposite sides of the wheel when driving.